Overview and Scrutiny Board

30th May 2012

Agenda

The Overview and Scrutiny Board will meet at the SHIRE HALL, WARWICK on WEDNESDAY, 30th MAY 2012 at 2.00 p.m.

The agenda will be:

- 1. General
 - (1) Apologies
 - (2) Election of Chair and Vice-Chair
 - (3) Members' Disclosures of Personal and Prejudicial Interests

Members should declare any interests at this point, or as soon as the interest becomes apparent. If the interest is prejudicial, and none of the exceptions apply, you must withdraw from the room. Membership of a district or borough council only needs to be declared (as a personal interest) if you wish to speak in relation to this membership.

(3) Minutes of the meeting of the Overview and Scrutiny Board held on 5th April 2012

2. Public Question Time

Up to 30 minutes of the meeting is available for members of the public to ask questions on any matters relevant to the business of the Overview and Scrutiny Board. Questioners may ask two questions and can speak for up to three minutes each. To be sure of receiving an answer to an appropriate question, please contact Georgina Atkinson 5 working days before the meeting. Otherwise, please arrive at least 15 minutes before the start of the meeting and ensure that Council representatives are aware of the matter on which you wish to speak.



3. Questions to the Portfolio Holders/Portfolio Holders Update

Up to 30 minutes of the meeting is available for Members of the Committee to put questions to the Portfolio Holders (Councillor Alan Farnell, Leader, Colin Hayfield, Customers, Access and Physical Assets, Councillor Martin Heatley, Improvement and Workforce, Councillor David Wright, Finance, Governance and IT) on any matters relevant to the remit of the Overview and Scrutiny Board and for the Portfolio Holders to update the Board on relevant issues.

4. Review of Overview and Scrutiny

To consider whether members wish to recommend any changes to the operation of Overview and Scrutiny, beyond those supported by the Leaders Liaison Group and Council.

5. Transformation through Strategic Commissioning

Phil Evans, Head of Service Improvement and Change, will provide an update on the overall progress of the Transformation Programme.

6. Warwickshire County Council's Approach to Performance Management Reporting

To consider proposals regarding improved reporting of performance management information.

7. Health and Wellbeing and the Role of Scrutiny

Dr John Linnane, Director of Public Health, will lead on discussions regarding the link between the Health and Wellbeing Board (H&WB) and Scrutiny; the relationship between Public Health and Scrutiny; and the role of the Overview and Scrutiny Committees in the monitoring of the Joint Strategic Needs Assessment.

8. Pilot of Mobile Devices

Tonino Ciuffini, Head of IT, will provide an overview of the progress to date on investigations into the use of iPads and similar devices in Warwickshire County Council.

9. Financial Review of the Council

The report will provide a financial overview of the County Council, focusing on spending changes, funding balances and saving requirements.



10. Social Media

To consider a report on the use of social media by Warwickshire County Council.

11. Work Programme and Scrutiny Review Progress Report

The Board is asked to consider the updated Work Programme and progress achieved with regard to ongoing items Task and Finish Groups.

12. Any Other Items

At the discretion of the Chair, items may be raised which are considered urgent.

13. Dates of Future Meetings

Future meetings of the Overview and Scrutiny Board have been scheduled for 2.00 p.m. on the following dates:

- 25th July 2012
- 3rd October 2012
- 12th December 2012

Jim Graham Chief Executive Shire Hall Warwick



Overview and Scrutiny Board Membership

Councillors: John Appleton (Chair), Les Caborn, Jeff Clarke, Bernard Kirton, Tim Naylor, Jerry Roodhouse, John Ross, Dave Shilton, June Tandy, John Whitehouse, Chris Williams, Sonja Wilson.

Co-opted members for Partnership matters as follows:

District / Borough Council

North Warwickshire Borough Council: Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council: Rugby Borough Council Stratford-on-Avon District Council Warwick District Council:

Warwickshire Police Authority NHS Warwickshire

Councillor Derek Pickard Councillor John Haynes Councillor Jim Shera Councillor Sue Main Councillor Bill Gifford

Clive Parsons Janet Smith

Portfolio Holders:-

Councillor Alan Farnell – Leader of the Council Councillor Colin Hayfield – Customers, Access and Property Councillor Martin Heatley – Workforce and Governance Councillor David Wright – Finance, Improvement and IT

For queries regarding this agenda, please contact: Georgina Atkinson, Democratic Services Team Leader Tel: 01926 412144, e-mail: <u>georginaatkinson@warwickshire.gov.uk</u>

